The Truth

IMG_4185

Recovering from trauma is not simple. It’s not as straight forward as bones healing back together. If only it was!

In recent months, I have experienced a huge lack of awareness about the reality of recovering from a traumatic event (not just being hit by a car, but any traumatic accident) and what a huge impact it has on your life. It’s life changing. It sounds dramatic, but it’s the truth.

This is what this post is about. The Truth.

 

Some days I can walk.

Some days I can’t.

Some days I can run.

Some days I can’t.

Some days I can go to yoga.

Some days I can’t.

Some days I can swim.

Some days I can’t.

Some days I can text my friends.

Some days I can’t.

Some days I can meet my friends.

Some days I can’t.

Some days I can sleep.

Some days I can’t.

Some days I can laugh.

Some days I can’t.

Some days I can motivate myself.

Some days I can’t.

Some days I can manage the stress.

Some days I can’t.

Some days I can manage the anxiety.

Some days I can’t.

Some days I can cope with the legal claim.

Some days I can’t.

Some days I can face the medical appointments.

Some days I can’t.

Some days I can put a brave face on.

Some days I can’t.

This is what recovery is like. This is what it’s really like. It’s a struggle. It’s a juggle. A juggle between what I want to do, what my body allows me to do and what other people expect me to do. But what I have learnt is the most important this is to do what is right for YOU. I know my body the best. I know what I can mange. I know what I can cope with today.

I have met some amazing and inspirational people along this ‘journey’, people who are understanding and who empathise. It is these people that have helped me so much and look up to.

But there are also people who haven’t been understanding or who realise the complexity that comes with recovery from a traumatic accident. When I have experienced this lack of understanding, it’s hard. It’s really hard. You feel silly. You feel alone. You feel like you are being dramatic. It’s horrible.

This doesn’t need to be the case. I’m hoping by writing this post, it is showing what recovery is really like and it will increase the awareness of post trauma recovery.

I read this quote the other day in a book that I am reading:

“If you do go through life with nothing bad happening to you, you are incredibly lucky.”

This quote got me thinking. Sadly, there are far too many people dealing with awful situations and recovery from traumatic events and accidents. IF you are lucky enough to never experience anything ‘bad’, the least you can do is be understanding and be that inspirational person!

If there is more awareness, the more people it can help. . This is the point of this post, so thank you so much for reading it and I would love it if you could share it as much as possible. It might just help that one person who needs it.

 

Lots of love from,

Laura

xoxoxox

5 thoughts on “The Truth

  1. Laura Truman says:

    You are such an inspirational person Laura,after everything you have been through,you have been so brave and are doing amazingly well! I hope this blog reaches lots of people and can help anyone else out there who is going through the same things! Keep going my friend 🙂 xx

    Like

  2. molipop says:

    This is a truly inspirational post, Laura, and I hope that expressing these feelings in words has helped you even the tiniest bit. I wish you all the best with your continuing recovery! Molly x

    Like

Leave a Reply

