1st February 2016

Today marks a big day and it’s difficult to put into words how it makes me feel.

I have just been looking back at photos from the year and aside from it reminding me how much progress has been made (with lots of ups and downs), the main thing I saw was all the support and care I have had from all my friends and family this year. It’s been such a painful, frustrating, slow, limiting year with too many tears and low points for my liking but without my family and friends, I would not be at this stage of recovery.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

They are the ones that have gone out their way to make me feel as happy or as comfortable as I possibly could be. All the texts, cards, calls, visitors and outings I have had this year are what have kept me going and kept me distracted from all the horrible things going on! Even on my ‘bad days’, it’s been my family and friends that have helped me more than anything, to get me to this stage. Thank You x

A year is a big milestone that I have wanted to reach for so long. It’s as though I have now started the next ‘chapter’. It would be amazing if I could write that everything is fixed, I’m 100% better but I’ve learnt over the year that my recovery isn’t as simple or quick as that – it’s going to be a slow process over years. So today I went for my 1km swim, I went to physio for some pain relief, I did a bit of shopping until my pain stopped me and then I slept for 3 hours due to the exhaustion but considering a year ago, I didn’t know if I would ever walk, I was unable to move at all and I was just looking at the hospital ceiling. I think that’s pretty good progress to be celebrating today. So despite not having a great day ‘body wise’ today, I’m celebrating a year of hard work, tears, pain and frustration that has got me here and I can’t wait to see where I will be this time next year.

I saw a quote on my phone that I had Instagrammed this time last year and it is just still so fitting that I am going to leave it on this post as it really does just sum up this recovery journey perfectly:

“Good things comes to those who wait, better things come to those who are patient and the best things come to those who don’t give up.”

That’s my mantra for this next chapter!

 

Lots of love from

Laura

xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

