NEW YEAR, NEW COUNTRY, NEW GOALS

IMG_3842

I’m finally writing my first blog of the year and seeing as one of my plans for 2016 was to be more frequent with my posts, I don’t have much more time to waste!

As most of you know, I started the new year in Australia, the place I was supposed to be for the whole of 2015. It felt like the biggest weight had been lifted/like a dream finally coming true when we arrived in Aus. It may have taken me all year, but my number one goal for 2015 was ‘to make it to Australia’ and so it felt amazing to achieve that on the final day of the year!

Now that I have achieved my top goal, it meant I wanted to set myself a new one for this year. With the help of my amazing new Aussie physio, my goal for the next 3months is:

“By the time I leave Australia, I will be able to run”

This is a pretty huge goal, but my physio believes it is possible…and so do I! So for the next three months here, I am going to be working hard on getting some strength back into my weakling of a body and telling some muscles to wake up and actually do what they used to do! Every session leaves me totally exhausted and I’m usually waddling around for two days after! It feels amazing to be using muscles again and slowly getting stronger.

I like to have some smaller goals to go along with my main goal, otherwise it can be a bit disheartening when it’s not going as fast as I might hope and if I’ve learnt anything, the things you want most, do not come quickly or easily.

So, this year I am also hoping to improve my overall fitness and stamina. Being in Australia is proving to be great for this, with the amazing weather, it’s just so much more inviting! I am enjoying lots of ocean swims and swimming in the outdoor pool. I can comfortably swim 1km and I’ve even noticed I’m swimming it faster than I was (on the days when my shoulder allows me too!). Rather excitingly, I now have a bike too which I am loving! It’s so much easier to cycle than it is to walk and it means I get a lot further than I would on foot! Everywhere has cycle paths so I don’t have to worry about being on the roads and it means I can just enjoy the ride!

And finally, in the words of Jess Glynne, “Don’t be so hard on yourself”. I think this is such an important one to remember. It’s ok to have ‘bad days’ and it’s normal to have ‘bad days’. Someone told me the other day to remember to work with the body, not against it. This is something I’m going to keep in mind!

I’m excited to see what 2016 brings, one thing for sure is that the only way is up from last year!

Thanks for reading and Happy New Year!

Love from

Laura

xoxoxox

One thought on “NEW YEAR, NEW COUNTRY, NEW GOALS

  1. Glimpsing Gembles says:

    Awesome Laura. Well done for keeping at it and getting this far! And well done for not only committing to a dream and fulfilling it, but for not letting something like the need to continue your physio etc stop you or put your dream on the back-burner. I look forward to hearing of more progress, and what you think of this beautiful country! Welcome to Aus! xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

